Databases


Travel

Last Updated November 4, 2020

  Fodors offers the definitive, insider guide on what to do and see in over 8,000 worldwide destinations. They dive even deeper with recommendations on food & drink, luxury & budget, arts & culture, hotels & lodging, cruises & transport, and every tip, trick, hack, and deal you could ever dream up.   Lonely Planet’s


Databases for In-Library Use Only

Last Updated April 29, 2020

KnowBC Online **While this is typically available only in-library from our public computers, Harbour Publishing has made KnowBC available for free to all, from any device, during COVID-19—no need for a library card. Includes the following resources: Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables,


Complete List of Electronic Resources (A-Z)

Last Updated January 22, 2021

Below are digital resources that our library subscribes to. These collections and databases contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.   ABCmouse – (In-Library Use Only) – ABCmouse is designed to provide a strong foundation for learning. Concepts in each


Statistics

Last Updated November 28, 2020

  British Columbia Statistics – the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They offer data services, business and economic statistics, labour and social statistics, population stats, and survey and analysis.   The World Bank – The Data Catalogue provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.   Statistics


Law & Government

Last Updated November 6, 2020

Library Databases Our databases have lots of information from trusted sources that’s typically not available through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log in. Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) – Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation. Websites Legal British Columbia Codes – Includes the current Building


Home & Consumer Information

Last Updated November 28, 2020

BC Building Code 2018 (latest version) BC Fire Code 2018 (latest version) BC Plumbing Code 2018 (latest version) ConsumerSearch – Features product reviews from a variety of quality sources. ConsumerSafety – Learn about everyday health and safety topics, lawsuits over drug and product injuries, and consumer-focused news. Energy Star for Products – The Canadian government’s guide to energy-efficient appliances, heating and


Health, Medical & Wellness

Last Updated November 28, 2020

Aboriginal Infant Development Program – Supports early identification of needs and early intervention for Indigenous children and families at risk.   Aboriginal Supported Child Development BC – Recognizes the importance of cultural safety and early intervention. Supports the inclusion of Indigenous children with special needs in child-care and community settings.   Associtation of Neighbourhood Houses


Genealogy

Last Updated September 16, 2020

  BC Genealogical Society – The primary focus of this Society is to give individuals and groups the necessary skills to carry out their own research. They do this through regular monthly meetings, special interest group meetings, computer offerings, genealogical chats, and through its 18,000 volume library in Surrey. Membership fees apply.   Canadian Genealogy Centre


Citizenship & Multilingual Resources

Last Updated November 28, 2020

NewToBC – Find out services, programs and resources avaialable to newcomers at www.newtobc.ca, a website offered by BC Libraries to help you succeed in your new community.   Family Literacy First enables users to practice literacy skills with downloadable story & activity modules in five languages: English, French, Simplified Chinese, Tagalog and Arabic.   Clicklaw –


Business & Careers

Last Updated October 14, 2020

Business Websites Stockhouse – Get Canadian financial information including stock quotes. New York Stock Exchange – Online stock quotes from the New York Stock Exchange. Small Business BC – A resource center for business information and services. Job Search and Career Information Job Postings BCjobs.ca – Job listings for B.C. and Alberta Civic Jobs – Canadian municipal job postings Indeed.ca –